The Fire Within


for ages 9+ Orchard.
ISBN 1841215333


David Rain is a student, desperate to find lodgings. When he first moves in to Wayward Crescent with Mrs Pennykettle and her daughter, Lucy, all seems normal enough. True, the house is full of clay dragons, but Mrs Pennykettle makes them to sell, and there's nothing unusual in that.


But at Lucy's insistence, David quickly finds himself involved in a quest to save the life of an injured squirrel. A quest that will help him discover things he never knew about himself, not to mention those ever-present dragons... Hrrr!



for ages 10+ Orchard Books.
ISBN 1843623730


In this exciting sequel to The Fire Within, student David Rain is challenged to prove that dragons really existed. As he tackles this quest, he begins to learn a lot more than he anticipated, not just about dragons but the history of polar bears and the Arctic itself... Hrrr!

Fire Star


for ages 10+ Orchard Books.
ISBN 1843625210


The dragon saga continues as David tries to prevent the wicked Gwilanna from pursuing her attempts to raise Gawain from the dead. A course of action that will have long-lasting and potentially tragic results

The Fire Eternal


for ages 10+ Orchard Books.


Five years have passed since
David Rain, now a cult author, disappeared mysteriously in the Arctic. Life in Wayward Crescent has settled to relative normality.  But as the weather grows wild and the ice caps melt, all eyes turn north, where bears and the souls
of the Inuit dead are combining
to produce a spectacular solution. 
A solution with its focus on David’s child, Alexa – if the agents of evil don’t reach her first…

Dark Fire


for ages 10+ Orchard Books.
ISBN 978184616


With the Earth on the brink of recolonisation by dragons, David Rain is sent on an important mission: to seek out and destroy a trace of dark fire, the deadliest force in the universe. But with success could come a terrible price, the sacrifice of a beloved clay dragon. How much does the life of one small dragon count, when the alternative is the birth of

a darkling…?

Fire World

Ages 10+ Orchard Books

 ISBN: 9781408309582

 Book six is set in the alternative world of Co:pern:ica, where all the familiar characters appear – but not quite as they’ve been before.  In the old librarium on Co:pern:ica hangs a tapestry, guarded by the mysterious firebirds.  The tapestry shows the final scene from Dark Fire.  But what is it doing there?  And what significance does it have for the characters it portrays back on Earth…?

The Fire Ascending


Ages 10+ Orchard Books

ISBN: 9781408313909

TFA is a kind of timeslip novel, which takes us back to the dawn of Gawain and looks at the history of Guinevere and Gwilanna. Those of you who have journeyed this far will know that Gwilanna has altered time, which will have drastic effects on the icefire legend – unless David and his companions can stop her, of course…